I Take It Personally

9 Feb

Most people know that I am a Starbuck’s tea fanatic. It is the one place I go most often other than to work and home. My day really doesn’t get started without a cup of the black tea goodness in my hand. Folks say I can make anyone a Starbucks disciple.

I also admire the leadership of Howard Schultz, the founder and CEO of Starbucks. His business instincts are strong. His work ethic is inspiring. And how he has a built a corporation from the top down of care and concern for his employees is what I am striving to model.

I think if Howard and I sat down, we could be friends. I couldn’t agree any more with this statement he made in his book, Onward.

“Whenever I see someone carrying a cup of coffee from a Starbucks competitor, whether it’s an independent coffee shop or a fast-food chain, I take their decision not to come to Starbucks personally. I wonder what I, as Starbucks’ chairman and ceo, might have done to keep them away and what I might do to encourage them to come back or to try us for the first time.”

I feel the same way about Feed The Children. When I hear that my friends are sponsoring children through other organizations or churches are giving their mission dollars to other relief agencies or when I see banners on the highway for organizations similar to us, I get upset. I wonder why not Feed The Children?

It’s not that I don’t believe in the value of what other organizations are doing. I wholeheartedly support the work of so many of my colleagues. We need countless approaches and voices at the non-profit table of service. Our problems are just too great to do it alone.

But what I am is passionate for is the growth of Feed The Children. And I want everyone I know to know about it.

I believe in our programs– they are growing to be some of the best in the world.

I believe in our staff– that they are some of the most talented in the nation, able to get the big tasks that await done.

And most of all I believe in our mission– to ensure that no child goes to bed hungry. At Feed The Children, we feed kids first so that we can begin to change their communities in more sustainable ways for the long haul.

So my confession is that I take it personally when I hear that you, my friends aren’t supporting Feed The Children.

If you’ve had a bad experience with us, I want to know it.

If you’ve had questions or concerns about our programs, I want to know it.

If you’ve chosen another organization to support like us for any other reason, I’d appreciate knowing why.

I have a dream and that is that one day Feed The Children will be known as the leader in our industry, not just that organization that you heard about at one time. I want everyone to know that Feed The Children is doing amazing, life-changing work all over the world.

So if you want to know more, let’s talk.

Leave a Reply

